Previous: 5.2 New Control Constructs
Up: 5 Numeric Data Types and Expression Evaluation
Next: 5.4 Operators and Expression Evaluation
Previous Page: 5.2.2 The do...while Statement
Next Page: 5.3.1 Data Type void

5.3 Scalar Data Types

All of the data types we have seen so far, char, int, short long, float, and double are called scalar (or base) data types because they hold a single data item. (Chapters and describe compound data types provided in C). There are two other scalar types in the language: enum and void which are described in this section. We will refer to float and double types as floating point types and to all sizes of integers, char and enum types as integral types. In addition, we describe how a user defined type may be declared.
Wed Aug 17 08:40:40 HST 1994