Skip to Main Content
College Home Page
E C E Home Page


The Electrical & Computer Engineering department at the University of Hawai’i at Manoa was formed in 1959 with a baccalaureate degree program. The first graduating class received a B.S. degree in 1961. Our M.S. degree program was started in 1961, and our doctoral (Ph.D.) degree program was initiated in 1966. The first Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering was granted by the University in 1969. The famous wireless communication protocol, ALOHA, was invented by our faculty in the 1970s.

Many of our outstanding graduates have been very active in both academic and industry, including a number of IEEE fellows and high-profile industry leaders.

Our faculty come from all over the world (China, Denmark, India, Korea, Serbia, and Turkey) and have PhDs from top institutions such as Caltech, Carnegie Mellon, MIT, Princeton, Purdue, Stanford, UCLA, and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. They are leaders in their technical fields. Six professors have achieved the Fellow membership from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), the highest award given to members who have made an outstanding contribution to the field.  

Our faculty is committed to providing a first-class education. Four have received University and Manoa campus teaching awards:  two have received the Regent's Medal for Meritorious Teaching, a third has received the Chancellor's Citation for Meritorious Teaching, and a fourth has received the Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.